Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Problems With Your Sax? tips on playing overtones

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

if you are familiar with overtones, then you will be familiar:

that if you play a low Bb then
      1st overtone mid Bb
      2nd overtone mid F
      3rd overtone high Bb
      4th overtone high D
      5th overtone high F
      6th overtone 1st Altissimo Ab
      7th overtone 1st Altissimo Bb

When i was learning to play all 7 overtones on Low Bb, for some reason,
      i couldn’t get the 4th overtone no matter how hard i tried, but a useful tip
      JF advised was if you can play a higher note then try slurring down to the lower note to hit it.

The 7th & 6th overtones i found very easy to hit, so i started practicing slurring down from the 7th overtone to the 6th overtone, slurring down to the 5th overtone, and then finally i was able to slur down to the 4th overtone which was eluding me as i didn’t know what it felt like to hit it on is own.

A good exercise when you master all 7 overtones is to slur down from the 7th all the way down to the 1st overtone WITHOUT change in lip pressure – by only changing your larynx.

Another useful larynx exercise for anyone who hasn’t done overtones yet, just get the mouth piece out, put a reed on it, and play all 7 notes of the major scale (one complete octave). But slur from bottom note to top note and back down WITHOUT changing lip pressure, this way you can feel your larynx adjusting as you change pitches. You might notice a slight change in the position at the back of your tongue – but do not change your lip pressure and try to keep any Jaw movement to a minimum otherwise you won’t be using your larynx. Its a hard exercise to start off, but it does get easier after a few days, and pays dividends as you will find you have to get a good control of breathing in and out. This will also help when you start trying out overtones.