Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Your Video The Good Old Days

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

people say, record your playing, so you can look back, and see how much you’ve improved over time.

Well here we go, this was done in feb 2014, 3 months after i started learning the sax!
      Who said anything about “the good old days”?, more like “the bad old days”.

when i look at it …cringe, why, why , why?

john
      Keymaster

gee, I remember when you posted that on the blog! this is exactly why I tell everyone to record themselves all the time.
        try sharing a more recent version of that tune to see if there has been any improvement(wink)

Anonymous

Interesting looking back sxpoet. Your playing now’ snot what it used to be 🙂

How about a funky blues/jazz version of green sleeves?

jak Swift
          Participant

Ours is not to ask why Sxpoet , but to move forward…. Your doing great my friend …
            Gotta dash….☺

Anonymous

You wouldn’t believe that just changing the brand of a reed could double the sax volume.

I’ve been playing on La Voz (med/hard reeds equiv to a size 3 in other brands) and i bought a Vandoren V21 reed (size 2&1/2 equiv to a La Voz med reed) and the volume was twice as loud, i was struggling to play a lots quiter, and my teacher even asked not to play as loud in lessons.

It took me about 2 weeks to play a lot quieter, much harder on the diaphragm.

The other interesting thing, i changed the metal plate on my ligature that presses down on the reed from a thin gold plated metal plate to a thicker brass plate, and the sound has got a lot more body in it and this has made the higher notes a lot fatter.

So i’ll stick with this setup for another week until it settles down, and do another upload, in the meantime i need to buy a size 3 V21 reed and try that out (which might mean going back to the thinner gold plated metal plate)

jak Swift
              Participant