Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Reeds Should I go with just a little thicker reed on Tenor Sax?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Michael Bishop
    Participant

Hi Johnny,
      Yesterday I had my weekly music theory lesson with Mr. Baker and I played “Fly Me to the Moon” for him and a couple of other songs, both Alto and Tenor; he loved it; saying he thinks I’m just about an Intermediate Player now and not a total beginner anymore (I told him while I’ve certainly put in my practice time on Alto and now a Tenor; lots of credit go to you and your instruction, doesn’t do us any good to put in lots of practice time if we don’t know HOW to practice correctly).
      Mr. Baker wanted to address my tone that seems to be very bright on the Tenor, especially in the higher Octaves (it’s always good to have a strong, bright tone LOL) and thought I could benefit from going to a thicker reed to deepen it just a little bit. Right now I’m on a 2.5 reed with Tenor and a No.6 MP, same set up I use for Alto. I asked him if he thought maybe a No.7 MP was up my alley now and said going to a No.3 reed would be a wiser, less expensive choice v.s. spending $ on an MP. What’s your view on this?
      By the way everyone: kindly remember that Johnny is a busy guy and he’ll answers our questions as soon as he can; he’s working hard right now to add more of those songs we love so much to the music selection, as well as an Altissimo course that will make us better players.

john
      Keymaster