Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Repertoire One Mint Julep

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Michael Bishop
    Participant

Hey Johnny,
      One Mint Julep…..GOOD stuff. That’s the Sax music that gets to me, puts me in a GREAT mood 🙂 Thanks so much for your great tracks/sheet music.

john
      Keymaster

thanks Michael, ya I know what you mean.
        I used to sorta play the King Curtis version years ago but lately I been hearing Ray Charles version on my boat and every time it came on it floored me so I started playing it again and then decided to do the full tracks etc…..glad you like it.

Michael Bishop
        Participant

Never knew King Curtis did a cover of that song. I checked it out; you made the right call there for sure about doing it in Ray Charles’ version, much more ‘groovy’ than King Curtis’ version. It’s not too often that we hear a cover of some song that King Curtis did v.s. someone else did a cover of the same song that was better.

Mark Casey
          Participant

Excellent track Johnny.
            I’ll get some good mileage out of this one.
            I did use this http://onlinetonegenerator.com/time-stretcher.html
            to speed it up to KC’s version.

When can we expect a few Lionel Prevost backing tracks?

cheers, Mark.

john
            Keymaster

thanks Mark, those tools can be very helpful that way.
              I’m not familiar with Lionel Prevost

Mark Casey
              Participant

O.K. Johnny.
                It must be a different Johnny Ferriera I’m reading about.
                https://forum.saxontheweb.net/showthread.php?279073-Lionel-Prevost-Moscow-Twist

cheers, Mark.

john
                Keymaster

Mark, that was me mentioned in that interview but I just realized what happened…