Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Problems With Your Sax? My reeds keep breaking

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Mark Kiziuk
    Participant

Hi all! I’m trying to figure out why the thin part of my reeds keep breaking. It kind of looks like little bits being broken off by the tips. I’m new to saxophones (2 weeks) so I’m going to try to explain things the best way possible. When I first got my sax I was using Rico 2 and 2.5. (They are the reeds that came with the sax). I do NOT put the reed level with the tip of the mouthpiece, I make sure all the time I put the reed on, I move the reed down until I see a small gap between the tip of the mp to the tip of the reed, so I assume I’m doing that part right. And I snug the ligature and I don’t over tighten it. I’m basically trying to say that I believe everything is set right. The Rico’s NEVER BROKE! I just bought a bunch of Lazaro 1.5 reeds (I bought 1.5 because that’s what it calls out for in the training course), but ALSO at the same time as I got the new reeds I started to practice saying the word “TA” and then stopping the reed with my tongue. So it could be the brand “Lazarro”, it could be that 1.5 is too thin for me or it could be saying “TA”. I hope it’s the brand or the 1.5 size. I want to try one of my Rico’s but I only have 2 of them and they are costly compared to the Lazarro.
      Mark

Pete
      Participant

Mark are you putting your reed guard on the mouthpiece
        if you are be careful you can catch it on the tip, also
        you could be tonging to severe just a thought hope this helps.

Pete
        Participant

Sorry meant to say mouthpiece guard.

Mark Kiziuk
          Participant