Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Hi from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Shawn Clarke
    Participant

Hi all my name is Shawn. I started playing tenor sax in grade 9 in both concert and jazz band. After highschool I played a bit but I let life get in the way and eventually had to sell my saxophones. Now in my 40’s and my daughter plays flute and alto sax I have been itching to get back into playing again. Yesterday I bought myself a Cannonball Big Bell Stone Series in the Iced Black-Nickel finish to kickstart the re-learning experience much to the delight of my daughter and wife. It’s funny that I can remember how to play the scales but I can’t read the music well at all. Perhaps it will come back to me once I spends some proper time practicing.

I am very excited to be back into the music world again. Over the next few months I wold like to find myself a better mouthpiece and ligature as I am just using the one that came by default with the saxophone however I hope to find something that will give me the sound that I am looking for without spending a small fortune. I’ll be reading through the forums here to see if there are any recommendations of where to start. From some of the reading I’ve done I think I want to try the Winslow ligature but am not sure about the mouthpiece yet.

Shawn

William Cingolani
      Participant

Hi Shawn,
        I like my Winslow ligiture. I’ve been through many mouthpieces. My favorite is the Michael Brecker Fatboy

Shawn Clarke
        Participant

Hi William,