Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Hi from New Zealand

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Charlotte Stephens
    Participant

Hi everyone
      I’m Charlotte, a kiwi, and I am loving the video tips and ebook Johnny! I’ve been learning tenor sax for about eight months with a teacher, and am renting a Yamaha YTS 275. Would like to own my own someday and would be interested in people’s views of Yamaha versus P Mauriat instruments. Plus what kind of hard rubber mouthpiece to get (I’m told this can be a mine field!)

Cheers
      Charlotte

Marc
      Participant

Hey, welcome from the other side o’ the world (for you).
        After 8 months of constant playing with a teacher, you’ve surely developed a somewhat strong and confident embouchure so you should be able to pick a MP that fits your needs. Think about the reed as well, since thers’s a close relationship between those elements and it’s better to try them as a combo. Maybe the reed you’re currently playing on today is not the best for the MP you will choose.

Regards.
        Marc.

Thomas Crawford
        Participant

Hi Charlotte

It is a mine field.

I am having problems looking for a mpc too. People have advised me to go to a shop where they sell 2nd hand mpcs and try them with my sax and a range of different reed strengths and spend all day in there with a tuner. Unless you have perfect pitch, the tuner is essential as some sax/mpc/reed combinations are very difficult to play in tune – the physics of sound. If you do this, take some disinfectant ….

Jody Jazz seems to be popular.

Mel
          Participant

Hello Charlotte –

Welcome to a great Saxophone website! You have more playing time than I do. I just recently bought a Jody Jazz HR 5* Tenor mouthpiece. I put it on a step – up Selmer La Voix II.