Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Hello From Wisconsin

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Mel
    Participant

Hello From Wisconsin-

My name is Mel and I am 60 years young. I always wanted to play the Saxophone. Better late than never – right? I currently am renting a new Selmer Soloist TSOL300 Student Tenor Saxophone. I have been blowing some notes for a couple weeks now. This is a lot of fun! Looking forward to the journey ahead.

Mel

Mark Kiziuk
      Participant

Hi Mel and welcome to the club! I am almost 54 years young and I started playing about 3 or 4 weeks ago myself. I own an Armstrong 3008A that I purchased from eBay. It was broken when I bought it, but I fixed it all up all by myself! I practice on my lunch break at work and I practice when I come back home. I practice everyday because you need to build your embouchure (I think they are the muscles in your mouth that you use when you hold the mouthpiece or it’s something like that) so far I can play the beginning of two songs, I can make the Alto sax growl like in the song “TEQUILA”, and I’m also working on my Gliss (Glissando) not trying to brag, just trying to point out that if I can do it then you should be able to do it to! It’s a lot of practicing and a lot of dedication to do this thing right! Johnnys beginning courses are excellent and and I also learned a lot from this site and from YouTube. So welcome!
        Mark

Michael Bishop
        Participant

Nice to meet you Melvin. That’s cool that you’re picking up the Sax. Johnny has a great ebook here on his homepage that will take you through all the basic of getting started with the Sax. I put the link for it below. When I went through that ebook, I combined it with all of his free lessons that you find on the bottom of the homepage. In the beginning, taking lessons from a qualified instructor is great too. Welcome aboard and hope to hear more from you!