Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Greetings from the Wicklow mountains!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Robin Challis
    Participant

Hi y’all! I’m Robin, living in the Wicklow mountains, south of Dublin, Ireland. I’m 58, picked up my first sax when I was a student at Oxford aged 21, but couldn’t afford my own sax until about 18 or so years ago, which is when I started properly. Bought a Boosey & Hawkes alto – not a good choice, bit of a tank. Got RSI (repetitive strain injury) in my arm from being a little too keen to get things going so had to take a couple of years out to re-learn my body. Early lessons from a lady called Carol Nelson, who plays in a band called Zrazy. Next bought a Buffet Evette alto, much sweeter, and got some great foundational lessons from Serge Stavila – epic player – had me doing long notes for five years. Graduated to a Selmer III-series alto and forked out for a Dave Guardala mouthpiece. Then four years ago moved onto tenor – picked up a great second-hand Yamaha YTS-62, which is what I’m working on mainly these days – now with a Gregory Hollywood bakerlite 5M mouthpiece: really nice but I can’t help itching to get a metal mouthpiece for that greasy King Curtis sound. Couple of years ago, on holiday in Nice, France found a beaten up soprano, which Serge renovated. It’s a Millereau (never heard? not a surprise), dated probably sometime around 1890 – ancient, even has a double octave key .. like double de-clutching in a car. Not a speedster, but I love it, has a nice tinny New Orleans sound and I was pumping out Sidney Bechet for a while. Also good for playing traditional Irish music. Anyway, my main thing now is tenor. I played with the Trinity House Band, when I went back to Trinity College Dublin last year to do an MSC – which was really great .. playing with other people is the only way (IMHO). Nowadays, working with a couple of friends – electric guitar and bass – in an amateur kind