Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Problems With Your Sax? Alto sax twisting

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hi Johnny

I have a little problem with the alto sax twisting when playing.

I am practicing not press the keys so hard, but then my grip is more loose
      and the sax is prone to twist.

Do you have any tips for me to address this problem?

Jeffrey

Abe Sloan
      Participant

check yourself out in a mirror and maybe you can discover what is going on.

Anonymous

That’s a good idea. I’m a beginner and have not developed the knack of firmly holding the instrument and lightly pressing the keys. My sound has improved and I can play all the notes in the normal range in tune and fairly smoothly. I suppose it will just take more time spent practicing. It reminded me of juggling balls in the beginning with fingering, embouchure and reading the music simultaneously was all just a little too much to handle at first. I decided to concentrate on one issue at a time and that helped. I spend a good ten minutes practicing just with the mouthpiece and reed, seeing how far I can raise and lower the note. That really helps my tone improve.

Anonymous

Hi Abe

I practiced today and whilst I was playing I thought about your comment and realized that you are referring to posture.

I sit when I play normally, and bearing posture in mind I noted that each time I was having difficulty – I was leaning to one side or the other. This pressed the u-bend of the sax against my leg which causes extra sideways pressure on my lip and hands. This is what is making the sax turn from side to side.

Now by avoiding this my sound has improved because there is less pressure on my lips, and the sax is more stable.

I could almost hear my olde English school teachers shouting, “Sit up straight lad!!!”

Cheers

Abe Sloan
            Participant